A Word from the Producer

-->

In the summer of 2007, Nicolas and Alexis came to Productions du Rapide-Blanc with an interesting idea for a film. They were going to paddle 200km upstream on rivers and reservoirs, in search of the Romaine River’s source. Once found, they would canoe 500km south, the full length of the river and exit at its mouth in the St. Lawrence. Their impetus was the environmental impact study that Hydro-Québec had released in conjunction with their impending 4-dam hydroelectric project on the Romaine river.

After descending the river, Nicolas and Alexis’ explained, they would investigate various green energies in comparison to what we were doing with large hydro plants.  Essentially, they wondered Could we be creating energy differently in Quebec?

From the project’s inception, our goal was to offer solutions, not just criticize. We wanted the film to document the Romaine’s ecosystem and explore the financial viability of green energies in Quebec. We wanted the film to offer the public information and a view they rarely hear, supported with solid facts and in an entertaining way.

Our goal was to produce a film that would contribute to and encourage others to get involved in a healthy debate about the future of energy production in the province of Quebec.

Hydro-Québec’s point of view is presented through the various documents we consulted and cite throughout the film, but it is important to note that Hydro-Québec refused all our requests to be interviewed. We wrote, we called (repeatedly), we even approached them in person during the BAPE (Bureau d’Audiences Publique sur l’Environnement)  public hearings in Havre-Saint-Pierre. Nothing. Instead of engaging with us about their Romaine project, they remained silent.

Now that the film is generating publicity, they have issued press releases that skirt the facts of the film.  We address every one of their points here.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Mot du producteur

-->

À l’été 2007, Nicolas et Alexis sont venus aux Productions du Rapide-Blanc avec une idée intéressante pour un film. Ils allaient remonter 200 km de rivières et de réservoirs à contre-courant, à la recherche de la source de la rivière Romaine. Une fois trouvée, ils descendrait la rivière Romaine sur 500 km, de sa source à son embouchure dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Dans leur bagage, l’étude d’impact que Hydro-Québec avait publié en prévision du projet de quatre barrages hydroélectriques sur la Romaine.

Après avoir descendu la rivière, Nicolas et Alexis, voulaient comparer la grande hydraulique avec les diverses énergies vertes. Depuis le début du projet, notre objectif était de proposer des solutions, pas seulement critiquer. Nous voulions que le film documente l’écosystème de la rivière Romaine et explore la viabilité financière des énergie verte au Québec. Nous voulions que le film offre l’information au public d’une manière accessible, solidement documentée et divertissante.

Notre objectif était de produire un film qui contribuerait à encourager les citoyens  à s’impliquer dans un débat sain sur l’avenir de la production d’énergie au Québec.

Le point de vue de Hydro-Québec est présenté à travers les différents documents que nous avons consultés et que nous citons tout au long du film, mais il est important de souligner  que Hydro-Québec a refusé toutes nos demandes d’entrevues. Nous avons écrit, nous avons appelé (plusieurs fois), nous les avons même approché en personne durant le BAPE (Bureau d’audiences publique sur l’environnement) de Havre-Saint-Pierre, mais ils ont toujours refusé de nous parler, à la caméra ou hors caméra.

Maintenant que le film a circulé au Québec et a attiré leur attention, ils ont publié des communiqués de presse auxquels nous avons répondu point par point. L’ensemble de nos échanges est disponible ICI.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>